Total players online: 6



Take the Tour | Site Map

It is currently Wed Jan 18, 2017 4:04 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 12:24 pm 
Offline
Legendary Scripter
Legendary Scripter
User avatar

Joined: 11/04/2008 23:33
Posts: 2001
Location: Iowa, aka Corn Country

I think we should have a small tutorial on backing up your client version so that should you in case update to a non-essential patch and lose your ability to run scripts, you can always restore the old client version.

From my understanding, you copy Client.exe inside your UO directory, and you paste it as a copy so, Client (Copy).exe should be there.

Then, when you don't pay attention during updating and lose your ability to macro, go back and restore it by making the new one Client (New).exe, and your old one Client.exe.

Problem solved. It's really a simple solution that requires 3 minutes of work on your part.

_________________
I've got another question.


Last edited by kaliofls on Mon May 14, 2012 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 2:57 pm 
Offline
Apprentice Scripter
Apprentice Scripter

Joined: 03/25/2010 16:15
Posts: 15

Groups:
Also you don't really need to rename the working client to uo.exe. In fact you could use easy uo to open the old client, as I do, and macro on a secondary client.

I suppose with people using UO assist they would want to rename their clients, no biggie on my end.


Top
  Profile 
PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 8:01 am 
Offline
Master Scripter
Master Scripter

Joined: 12/17/2008 13:13
Posts: 297

Groups:
This is why it is important to keep a copy of ur UO folder in your program file. so if you patch u can revert quick or if u need to reformat ur drive, u are back playing in 4 min :) Only the hard core player insure they are never caught their pant down, the rest wait to get the new version, complaining they can't use EUOX. All the information are bury somewhere in the forum.


Top
  Profile 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 12:01 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 08/12/2003 07:28
Posts: 18305
Location: Switzerland

Just back up client.exe
I normally create a ZIP-file of it with rightclick --> Send to zip compressed folder

_________________
EUO Member and postwhore since: 19th Dezember, 2002; Losing on freeshard Alexandria since: 5th January, 2005
Searches cure for cancer since: 17th November, 2003 on GRID.org & Worldcommunitygrid.org
Made scripts for Project 'Programmers for Alexandria' worth 50$
Image
Quote "mmorning": Where would theses boards be if Orn didn't miss all the sarcasm. Man its great having him here :)
Quote "author-unknown": Good idea. I gotta start doing that too. You're a trendsetter Orn. :)
Quote "dreyfus": #true is always #true


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:21 am 
Offline
Apprentice Scripter
Apprentice Scripter

Joined: 04/22/2012 09:49
Posts: 16

Groups:
Might be worth posting this as a sticky etc, noobs like myself have been caught out by this recent patch and unfortunately my computer doesnt have a backup of the older file.

I am busy checking friends installs and backups from a while back to see if I can roll back


Top
  Profile 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 6:39 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 08/12/2003 07:28
Posts: 18305
Location: Switzerland

*Added glue*

_________________
EUO Member and postwhore since: 19th Dezember, 2002; Losing on freeshard Alexandria since: 5th January, 2005
Searches cure for cancer since: 17th November, 2003 on GRID.org & Worldcommunitygrid.org
Made scripts for Project 'Programmers for Alexandria' worth 50$
Image
Quote "mmorning": Where would theses boards be if Orn didn't miss all the sarcasm. Man its great having him here :)
Quote "author-unknown": Good idea. I gotta start doing that too. You're a trendsetter Orn. :)
Quote "dreyfus": #true is always #true


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 8:57 am 
Offline
Novice Scripter
Novice Scripter

Joined: 01/02/2010 06:26
Posts: 66

Groups:
stalk512 wrote:
I suppose with people using UO assist they would want to rename their clients, no biggie on my end.


What do you mean by "rename"? Which exe should be renamed and to what name? Thanks in advance.


Top
  Profile 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 9:08 am 
Offline
Legendary Scripter
Legendary Scripter
User avatar

Joined: 11/04/2008 23:33
Posts: 2001
Location: Iowa, aka Corn Country

Always save one renamed at anything.


Okay, let's say we have a working UO client that OEUO or EUOX.
Copy/Paste Client.exe. It should paste as Client (Copy).exe You can leave it like that.

If you don't have UO assisst/razoer... You can just double click that file and it will run normally.

IF EA updates, and you update your client and find that you can't use OEUO or EUOX, then just start using your Client (Copy).exe file to launch UO. It won't be the updated version.


IF you use UO assist, you'll have to rename Client (Copy).exe to Client.exe. There will alreeady be a Client.exe file though, so you'll have to delete it or change the name.

Then start UO using UO assist/razor, but make sure it doesn't update!!!

_________________
I've got another question.


Last edited by kaliofls on Mon May 14, 2012 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 9:19 am 
Offline
Novice Scripter
Novice Scripter

Joined: 01/02/2010 06:26
Posts: 66

Groups:
thank you indeed - but isn't uoassist now forcibly starting the patcher - and all in forced admin mode - and isn't that patcher md5-checking uo.exe and client.exe and patching them if outdated?


Top
  Profile 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 9:26 am 
Offline
Legendary Scripter
Legendary Scripter
User avatar

Joined: 11/04/2008 23:33
Posts: 2001
Location: Iowa, aka Corn Country

I don't know how UO assist works anymore because I don't use it.

I know with Razor you can choose to bypass the patch servers and if you launch UO directly, you can press "cancel" during the patch download and it will execute the client still.

Not all patches are essential to connect and play with OSI. You just loose out on the new feature the client update was giving you (Or still have current bugs, or whatever).

_________________
I've got another question.


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 12:02 pm 
Offline
Master Scripter
Master Scripter
User avatar

Joined: 09/29/2004 20:36
Posts: 414

Just to be clear, the file you need to keep a copy of is "client.exe". Once UO and EUO are up to date, I just make a copy of this file so I can maintain scripting goodness when a non-forced patch occurs.

I run this directly instead of UO.exe to avoid the patching process. Since I don't use UOA any longer, this method works flawlessly.


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 1:15 pm 
Offline
Legendary Scripter
Legendary Scripter
User avatar

Joined: 11/04/2008 23:33
Posts: 2001
Location: Iowa, aka Corn Country

Miffy wrote:
Just to be clear, the file you need to keep a copy of is "client.exe". Once UO and EUO are up to date, I just make a copy of this file so I can maintain scripting goodness when a non-forced patch occurs.

I run this directly instead of UO.exe to avoid the patching process. Since I don't use UOA any longer, this method works flawlessly.


Miffy, thank you for pointing that out. I didn't check, I was going off memory (I just started playing hybrid again, so I didn't have to monkey with the client stuff)

I actually was about to say you might as well just run the client by default. If it ever doesn't let you log in because the client is to old, then you'll have to update. Otherwise update after euox/oeuo update.

_________________
I've got another question.


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 3:11 pm 
Offline
Novice Scripter
Novice Scripter

Joined: 01/02/2010 06:26
Posts: 66

Groups:
I got the last working client back from a Windows 7 shadow copy. EasyUO works with that - ok. Starting UOAssist creates a mess, though: The patcher cannot start the game, I get error messages. Seems like it wants to patch the game but fails. Changing back the client.exe - files I can use UOAssist again, but of course EasyUO now fails.

So we now can have either, but not both. Bad luck.


Top
  Profile 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 5:26 pm 
Offline
Legendary Scripter
Legendary Scripter
User avatar

Joined: 11/04/2008 23:33
Posts: 2001
Location: Iowa, aka Corn Country

well, use UO assist when you play, use the client when you script.
I don't think it's that bad of a situation for now. :)

_________________
I've got another question.


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
PostPosted: Mon May 14, 2012 10:58 pm 
Offline
Novice Scripter
Novice Scripter

Joined: 01/02/2010 06:26
Posts: 66

Groups:
kaliofls wrote:
well, use UO assist when you play, use the client when you script.
I don't think it's that bad of a situation for now. :)


Well it's just what I said - bad luck. I don't use unattended script, scripts mean an aid while playing for me - plus UOAssist. Less click-click-click-click, especially for the easy, boring tasks. Of course we can all cope, it's just a game - I mean most of us don't live off the game. I don't. And if something about EasyUO doesn't work, well, that's bad luck.


Top
  Profile 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by CalWeb Internet Services, Inc.