Total players online: 12



Take the Tour | Site Map

It is currently Wed Dec 19, 2018 12:20 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2003 8:53 am 
Offline
Ancient Scripter
Ancient Scripter
User avatar

Joined: 07/01/2003 06:22
Posts: 3486

If you are one to be concerned about UO updating (patching) and not being able to use EUO until a new one is released then you could do the following...

Normally everyone backs up their client to prevent the above from happening, but I will show you a better way.

If you back up your client and an update comes you will need to restore your previous client. Using my method you will never need to restore a client, just keep using until the client no longer allows you to log in or EUO is updated to work with the latest client.

Create a shortcut to the following:
  1. "C:\Program Files\Ultima Online 2D\client.exe"


When you run the above shortcut you will start the client without version checking UO (no patching).

Happy Gaming!

_________________
EUO Member since: April 8, 2002
Image
Image
TBM Scripts: sub Click Runebook Location | sub moveItem


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
DarkLord
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 9:13 pm 
I am already patched! what now? i dont have any back up!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:40 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 08/12/2003 07:28
Posts: 18974
Location: Switzerland

OSI did a patch?

Well:
Current version is V1.40 [Build 005B] for UO 2D Client 4.0.0q.
It was updated Fri, Oct 17th, 2003.

_________________
EUO Member and postwhore since: 19th Dezember, 2002; Loosing on freeshard Alexandria since: 5th January, 2005
Searches cure for cancer since: 17th November, 2003 on GRID.org & Worldcommunitygrid.org
Made scripts for Project 'Programmers for Alexandria' worth 50$
Image
Quote "mmorning": Where would theses boards be if Orn didn't miss all the sarcasm. Man its great having him here :)
Quote "author-unknown": Good idea. I gotta start doing that too. You're a trendsetter Orn. :)
Quote "dreyfus": #true is always #true


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2003 10:55 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 06/08/2003 02:46
Posts: 4087
Location: Denmark

DarkLord wrote:
I am already patched! what now? i dont have any back up!

Take a backup of that client so you won't have this problem next time.

_________________
[left]http://www.easyuo.com/images/lexia.jpg[/left]You\\\'re not your job.
You\\\'re not how much money you have in the bank.
You\\\'re not the car you drive.
You\\\'re not the contents of your wallet.
You\\\'re not your freakin\\\' UO character.
Lexia banner by Janus
ScriptFellow\\\'s Script Library
Travel cheap in Europe.
[sfoneliner]
EUO Member since: May 30, 2001


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 4:30 am 
Offline
Ancient Scripter
Ancient Scripter
User avatar

Joined: 07/01/2003 06:22
Posts: 3486

I would follow everyone's suggestions for making a backup (you never know what can happen).

Get in the habit of starting your client through the shortcut setup as
  1. "C:\Program Files\Ultima Online 2D\client.exe"


You should also be able to set UOA to use this shortcut as well if it doesn't already. By using the shortcut you should not have to worry about any patching until your client will no longer work after a patch.

_________________
EUO Member since: April 8, 2002
Image
Image
TBM Scripts: sub Click Runebook Location | sub moveItem


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
Fnord
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 4:43 am 
TOo late for me too.. EUO updated super quick but now I gotta wait for now Alex subs.... DOH!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 5:17 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 08/12/2003 07:28
Posts: 18974
Location: Switzerland

Fnord wrote:
but now I gotta wait for now Alex subs.... DOH!!

Hehe

PM me your eMail-adresses, guys...

_________________
EUO Member and postwhore since: 19th Dezember, 2002; Loosing on freeshard Alexandria since: 5th January, 2005
Searches cure for cancer since: 17th November, 2003 on GRID.org & Worldcommunitygrid.org
Made scripts for Project 'Programmers for Alexandria' worth 50$
Image
Quote "mmorning": Where would theses boards be if Orn didn't miss all the sarcasm. Man its great having him here :)
Quote "author-unknown": Good idea. I gotta start doing that too. You're a trendsetter Orn. :)
Quote "dreyfus": #true is always #true


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
DarkLord
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 8:02 am 
ummm... where can i take that client backup?


Top
   
DarkLord
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 8:13 am 
i mean, how can i restore my client?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 8:49 am 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 08/14/2003 20:08
Posts: 17066
Location: USA

DarkLord wrote:
i mean, how can i restore my client?

You either have to have a backup of the old client or you can reinstall from the CD and stop the patch. Those are the only two legal ways to restore to an older client.

Find a friend that will send it to you is another method.

_________________
Warning: DO NOT accept any scripts from players in game! Get them from this website.
People have been known to pass around fake scripts that kill you or drop your Artis!

Send me a Paypal donation!
Image


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
DarkLord
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 12:31 pm 
All my friends didnt save any backups...
can anyone send me the client backup plz?
icq - 42818022
msn - vcmcs@hotmail.com (Raisine Hell)


Top
   
Fnord
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 3:41 pm 
Only because Im kinda new to this scene ...how long does Alexandria usually take to update. I did grab the new ContIDs and such so I have it working with client q but id rather have a full release in case I have missed anything.. Thanks!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 4:30 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: 08/14/2003 20:08
Posts: 17066
Location: USA

Fnord wrote:
Only because Im kinda new to this scene ...how long does Alexandria usually take to update. I did grab the new ContIDs and such so I have it working with client q but id rather have a full release in case I have missed anything.. Thanks!!


The only thing that would be updated in Alexandria would be a new file called : client_4.0.0q_statics.txt

You can make one yourself using the previous file and the info posted in Spewy's thread (it contains all but 3 values needed.) I'm sure it'll be updated soon.

_________________
Warning: DO NOT accept any scripts from players in game! Get them from this website.
People have been known to pass around fake scripts that kill you or drop your Artis!

Send me a Paypal donation!
Image


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
Fnord
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2003 5:00 pm 
Great!! Thanks for the quick response!!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Oct 18, 2003 12:14 am 
Offline
Master Scripter
Master Scripter

Joined: 09/19/2003 03:26
Posts: 281

or you can load uo through UOGateway (which will only patch when you tell it to) and have a list of over 200 different shards to choose from.

Productions shards are under Origin-Ultima Online on the list.


Top
  ProfileShow poster's scripts in the public script library 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 61 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Hosted by CalWeb Internet Services, Inc.